Would You Rather Have…

I’ve noticed many of the “elite” fashion bloggers have the Valentino Rockstud heels and while I think they are incredibly lovely for sure, I can’t help but think that is a lot of money to spend on a shoe that may go out of style soon.  They range in price from $945.00 to $1,075.00, although, I saw some at T.J. Maxx back in October for $399.99.  Hand to God.  They didn’t have my size.  I looked.  Although, even if they did I’m sure the woman next to me would have jumped me for them.  She was tiny but ferocious as she grabbed three pairs.  She was like a squirrel gathering nuts for the winter.  I’m not cut out for competitive shopping.

I guess if I had a cool grand to drop on a pair of shoes, which I don’t (because I have to feed my kids and pay my mortgage), I’d go for more of a classic style that I know I’d get many years use from.  I’m too practical (i.e. boring).  How about you?  Would you rather have the Valentino Rockstud or a more classic style?

Valentino RockstudValentino Pump

Photos from the Valentino site.

Left:  Valentino Rockstud Slingback  ($1,075)

Right:  Valentino Pump ($745)

7 thoughts on “Would You Rather Have…

  1. I’d definately go for the classic style. Just because I like that style better and it fits into my love of vintage. Plus I’ve seen those other shoes on too many bloggers now. That is a big turn off for me.

    If you’re not cut out for competitive shopping never ever go to an estate sale. Elbowing, insulting and pushing are de rigueur.

    bisous
    Suzanne

  2. Hi! I’m hopping over from Manic Monday. I’m in the Metro Detroit area as well. Nice to meet a fellow blogger from this area. I can’t believe you found the Valentino heels at T.J. Maxx! Which T.J. Maxx? How come I never have that kind of luck? I would have been that woman that grabbed three of them at once. Except, I would have gone home, felt guilty and returned them all the next day. Ok, maybe kept one. So glad I found your blog. Do u know of any other bloggers in this area?

    Cynthia
    http://www.myrosecoloredshades.com

    • Yay! Another Michigander. My peeps! You understand me!

      I usually hit up the T.J. Maxx at Telegraph and Square Lake. They have a large Runway section. I went in there this past Saturday and they were doing it again! I didn’t see any Valentino shoes, but there was a rock stud purse. There were Christian Dior, Fendi, Gucci, Ferragamo, Rag & Bone, Tod’s, Dolce & Gabbana, etc. I cradled a lovely pair of Christian Diors for a long while but ended up putting them down and opting for a pair of Rag & Bone loafers that will be incredible for spring, which means I will probably get to wear them come June.

      They also had a bunch of other bags: Givenchy, Yves Saint Laurent and I can’t remember who else, but they weren’t marked down as much as the glorious shoes.

      >

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

