Stick With What Works

I’m a firm believer in sticking with what works for my shape. I tend to gravitate to the same shapes/fits of clothing. Why? Because they work. While I very much enjoy and admire some of the new on-trend items, the ones of late just don’t work for me. I’m looking at you crop tops and pleated skirts. Pretty, but not for me.

When I find a piece that fits me well I tend to buy it in numerous colors. These pants? These are my new favorites. I picked up a pair in black and navy from Zara while in Chicago last month. I loved them so much that I ordered the red as well. They hold their shape SO well and are thick enough to camouflage lumps and bumps.

Where did I wear this? I wore this to work when we finally hit 80° (plus) degrees. I know this outfit will be in high rotation over the warmer months.

Zara Black Polo - Red Trousers - Black Fringe Sandals 7Zara Black Polo - Red Trousers - Black Fringe Sandals 1 Zara Black Polo - Red Trousers - Black Fringe Sandals 2 Zara Black Polo - Red Trousers - Black Fringe Sandals 4 Zara Black Polo - Red Trousers - Black Fringe Sandals 5 Zara Black Polo - Red Trousers - Black Fringe Sandals 6

Wearing: Top – Zara, Trousers – Zara, Sandals – Zara, Bag – Coach (ancient), Sunnies – Kate Spade, Lips – M.A.C. (Relentlessly Red).

Thank you so much for stopping by and stay classy my friends!

Linking up with: Manic Monday (here and here), Style Sessions, What I Wore, Lena & Rachel, Visible Monday

31 thoughts on “Stick With What Works

  1. I agree with you on the crop tops and pleated skirts, not for me either. But never say never. Those pants looks really good on you. I’m going to have to check them out when I’m in Chicago in a few weeks.

      • There were several kids there including ours. No kid menu though. We ended up sitting at a big communal table with several other parties, but there were regular tables too. It’s not very large and very popular. We got there a bit after 5:00 and waited for about 45 mins or so.

  2. The pants fit you like a dream! And I am totally like you – if something looks and feels and fits perfect – I start getting anxiety that it’s going to fall apart one day or get ruined so then I have to buy 3487673 in other colors! This definitely works on you, lady!

  3. Agree 100%.. I love the Chanel-look-alike tweet jackets but I look awful in them.. look like I was trying too hard, so I just never buy them. The crop top, super short shorts and some boxy top just would not work for my age and body type.. oh, well *shrug*

  4. Just found your blog! I really love it and your style! As an older mama of five, I am looking to update my look so I don’t embarrass my kids in public. HA HA Seriously, I really love your outfit posts best….you show that even though we may be in our 40’s, it’s more than possible to look up-to-date and pull-together! Kudos to you! Paula

  5. Couldn’t agree with more with you, when you find something, (especially when it comes to pants) sticking with a good thing is always a smart thing to do. Love this black/red combo it’s always so striking and stylish.

  6. I agree with you, sticking with what works is a good policy. It also saves time and money. And yes, I tend to buy the same dress again and again, in different colours. Sometimes I even buy the exact same item in multiples… But I live in two countries and have two wardrobes…

  7. how do those sandals fit? i saw them online and am IN LOVE but unfortunately my usual size is sold out. would it be safe to go up half a size?

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

