St. Tropez | Self Tanner Review

I visit my dermatologist  annually for a full body screen and have had five moles removed over the past few years because they didn’t look “quite right”. That’s code for might be cancer! The biopsy for one came back bad and my doctor had to remove more tissue, which resulted in a very large and ugly scar on my back. I stay out of the sun as much as possible, and wear a hat and 50 SPF sunscreen when I know I am going to be outside. However, this wasn’t always the case. I made some poor decisions when I was younger that are now coming back to bite me. Tanning bed anyone?

Plea to you younger gals – Stay out of tanning beds, quit worshiping the sun, wear sunscreen and cover up. Your older self WILL thank you.

So, no sun = no tan, which kind of blows. I like having some color. I’ve tried the gradual self-tanners but they barely do anything for my lily white skin. I researched a bunch of self-tanners recently because I was sick of looking like the underbelly of a fish and knew I wanted some color for the wedding I attended. After reading eleventy bazillion reviews I decided to check out the St. Tropez Self Tan Mousse, but not before asking the ladies at Ulta a ton of questions.

Am I going to look like an Oompa Loompa?

Will it come off of my sheets?

Does it streak?

How do I put it on?

St. Tropez Self Tanner Before and After

As you can see it gave me color and did not turn me into an Oompa Loompa. I think it is important for you to know that in the before picture I had been using the gradual self-tanner for six weeks. Basically it made me not invisible. I tried the St. Tropez stuff out before the wedding to make sure I wouldn’t look like an ass and I was really impressed with it.

Would I recommend it? Yes, absolutely.

Does it streak? No. You do need to make sure you apply with the mitt though. It’s like a sponge.

Does it come off on your sheets? Not really. Which is better than I can say about the gradual self-tanner.

How long does it last? You will be really dark on the first day. Then it gradually fades away. You will have decent color for about 3 days.

Does it smell bad? It’s not too stinky. So, yay!

Anything else I need to know? Yeah…  It kind of looks like black dirt when you are putting it on. Don’t freak out. It mellows.

What else? If you spill water on your “tan” within the first few hours you will splotch. Be careful. Also, be prepared for brown water the first shower after application.

FYI: No one paid me or provided me any freebies for writing this review. (I’m not cool enough.) I’m sharing my experience with my peeps because that what good friends do. Right? I’m extremely picky, so if I like something that’s kind of a big deal.

 

Thank you so much for stopping by and stay classy!

 

5 thoughts on “St. Tropez | Self Tanner Review

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

