Transitioning a Summer Dress into Fall

The easiest way to transition a summer dress to look more fall-“ish” is to add a cardigan, blazer or denim jacket. Because I am totes addicted to my denim jacket I chose that option. What? I like it. I know you guys are sick of seeing it, but dang it, it’s just such a good topper. It works with almost everything. Plus, I do not have a bottomless closet. So there’s that. Not that I even want a bottomless closet. I can’t make a decision when there are too many options on the menu. What I want is a closet full of quality, classic pieces with some fun accessories, amazing handbags (I’ll take a Chanel!) and fabulous shoes thrown in.

Is that too much to ask?

I also switched up my shoes. I ditched the sandals and opted for some retro kicks in fall colors. I love my retro kicks. I have a pair in spring/summer colors, but had to procure a pair in darker colors to get me through fall and winter. I know these aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, and that’s cool… Neither am I.

Here’s how I previously wore this dress.

J. Crew Denim Jacket - Striped Dress - New Balance Kicks 9J. Crew Denim Jacket - Striped Dress - New Balance Kicks 7J. Crew Denim Jacket - Striped Dress - New Balance Kicks 3J. Crew Denim Jacket - Striped Dress - New Balance Kicks 5J. Crew Denim Jacket - Striped Dress - New Balance Kicks 2J. Crew Denim Jacket - Striped Dress - New Balance Kicks 8J. Crew Denim Jacket - Striped Dress - New Balance Kicks 1J. Crew Denim Jacket - Striped Dress - New Balance Kicks 6

Wearing: Dress – J. Crew (old). Denim Jacket – J. Crew Factory, New Balance Sneakers – J. Crew, Bag – Coach (old), Sunnies – Dolce & Gabbana (old), Bracelet – J. Crew Factory.

Thanks so much for stopping by and stay classy my peeps!

Mad props go out to my hubs for taking these photos. He is such a great creative director. He’s great at telling me how to (and not to) pose. He lets me know when my hair is messy and when I look goofy. He captures me well and makes me giggle so hard while he’s doing it. I think I’ll keep him. XOXO.

 

Linking up with: What I Wore

9 thoughts on “Transitioning a Summer Dress into Fall

  1. The addition of the denim jacket ads a fun element, giving the dress a sporty feel. I firmly promote the concept of horizontal stripes in spite of our grandmothers telling us that it is a taboo. Love the casual look, great idea to style the dress!

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

