The Hunt Begins

(Sorry for the SNAFU on this post last weekend. I accidentally published the Polyvore board to my site while I was editing and completely high on cold medicine. I am THAT person who should not operate any machinery while taking cold medicine that they talk about.)

While SO many men in my neck of the woods are hunting various woodland creatures, I’m hunting for something else entirely. The holiday party season is going to be approaching very, very soon and I’m going to need a dress. The Mister’s employer throws a massive, super fancy holiday party every year and it’s actually something that I look forward to going to. Why? Ummmm… Because I get to get all dressed up, and eat really good free food. Duh. I love fancy dresses and this is my one opportunity a year to sport something glitzy and glamorous.

I’ve worn black for the past two years and would like to branch out a bit. However, I can’t stop being drawn to more black dresses. It’s a sickness. There are some seriously gorgeous dresses out there, but I just can’t stomach spending a lot of money on an item that I’m only going to wear a few times. I’m too frugal. I’m am considering dress number 6 below, though. It’s striped, sparkly, has sleeves and is well under $200. That might be the one. I’ve thought about doing Rent the Runway, but I have such a problem with fit most of the time that it scares me, even with receiving two sizes.

Please be fully prepared for me to bombard you with additional dresses later. Stores are just now starting to get in their holiday party dresses. Consider yourself warned.

Do you have a big holiday party to go to this year? Have you already started looking for a dress? Where are you looking for dresses?

 

Holiday Dresses
  1. Cameo
  2. Eliza J
  3. Kate Spade
  4. Tibi
  5. Kate Spade
  6. Vince Camuto
  7. Top Shop
  8. Haute Hippie

 

Thank you so much for stopping by!

17 thoughts on “The Hunt Begins

  1. I like the Vince Camuto one best, too. Not only does it have sleeves, but it’s got a Kate Spade vibe without the Kate Spade price. And … SHINY!

    • P.S. I live in Wisconsin. For the last several years, our holiday work parties have been cancelled last-minute due to weather and sometimes an illness. I seriously have a dress waiting, unworn, that I purchased specifically for a super-big-deal work party a few years ago that was cancelled because of a snowstorm. Every year since then, either weather gets in the way or someone gets a cold.

  2. I wish I had a fancy party to go to every year. The opportunity to get dressed up and eat good food, that’s all I care about as well. My husband’s work party is not really fancy but I get dressed up anyway. My vote goes to #6 and #5 in that order. ~Cynthia

  3. I love Kate Spade. Their dresses are perfection, but those prices could kill a bear in its steps!

    & I love the simplicity of #5 plus sleeves so I don’t have to carry around a cardigan all night! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m still on the hunt for a nice dress for the office party. Just waiting til the Outnet sale, maybe I can snag something amazing there!

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

