What to Wear to a Holiday Shindig

This week has been trying to kill me you guys… Oh. My. Stars.

Work. Family. Appointments. Holiday season stuff. Crazy work project stuff. Stuff that needs to get done stuff. Out of dog food. Broken tooth. Out of milk. Dang it, we are out of lettuce too??? I’m just so tired you guys… GAH. I’m so thankful today is Friday. I do apologize for the light posting. Forgive me.

So, to add to the hullabaloo, I am attending two Christmas parties next weekend. TWO. One Friday and one Saturday. I’m too practical for holiday dresses that can only be worn one way. I’ve tried. I have purchased and  returned four dresses over the past month. I have to know that I am going to get a lot of use out of an item for me to part with substantial amounts of cashola.

I decided to keep things simple and stick with black. I zhushed up my trusty separates with lots of sparkly jewelry, a pair of silver sparkly tights, and a super red lip. I’m planning on wearing this to the less fancy party of the two.

Black Turtle Neck - J. Crew Black Wool Skirt - Metallic Tights 4Black Turtle Neck - J. Crew Black Wool Skirt - Metallic Tights 3Black Turtle Neck - J. Crew Black Wool Skirt - Metallic Tights 2Black Turtle Neck - J. Crew Black Wool Skirt - Metallic Tights 5Black Turtle Neck - J. Crew Black Wool Skirt - Metallic Tights

Wearing: Turtleneck – H & M (ancient, but this one is similar), Skirt – J. Crew, Tights – Hue, Necklace – Banana Republic (ancient),  Bag – Coach (ancient), Heels – Cole Haan.

 

Thank you so much for stopping by and putting up with my shenanigans.

19 thoughts on “What to Wear to a Holiday Shindig

  1. Hi Ashley! This is the first time I am leaving a comment here. I found your blog a few months ago (I think) and haven’t stopped reading it since then. I must say that is has become one of my favorites (or I should better say my absolute favorite). You have such a great style and look always chic and put together, even with a pair of jeans and a t-shirt. We both have a very similar taste, but you always inspire me and give me new ideas. Thank you !

    Kind regards from Madrid

    Cristina

  2. I’ve been wondering what you decided to do about the fancy shindig. Can’t wait to see!

    I think the all-black is chic, you look great and makes total economical sense.

  3. Very wise decision and you look great — and again giving me great ideas for my own upcoming holiday shindigs. Could not agree more about this past week, and the next few make me tired just thinking about them. Hang in there, hope we all get some downtime this weekend>

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

