Yay For Sweaters

Last year, for whatever reason, I only picked up a few fall/winter items, so I became bored with my cold weather wardrobe very quickly. This year I knew that I needed to add a few sweaters and some shoes to my repertoire. Sweaters, because they are super FUZZY! Am I right? And flats, because I’ve neglected buying them for far too long. I’m totally good on boots though. Heels suck, so screw those guys.

I recently picked up this boat neck tunic sweater from J. Crew. I’m not sure why it is called a tunic. To me, a tunic is an item that hits mid-thigh. This sweater does not. However, that is what it is called. I really like the shape. The dropped shoulder and boat neck help to de-emphasize my broad shoulders and *ahem* ample breastal region. If I’m not careful, I can look like a line backer in a some sweaters. Which is not quite the look I am going for.

Where did I wear this? I wore this out for my birthday dinner a few weeks ago.

J. Crew Boatneck Tunic Sweater - Jeans - Tory Burch Hyde Flats, 40 + style blogger, 40 + fashion blogger, over forty style blogger, over forty fashion blogger J. Crew Boatneck Tunic Sweater - Jeans - Tory Burch Hyde Flats 1 J. Crew Boatneck Tunic Sweater - Jeans - Tory Burch Hyde Flats 3 J. Crew Boatneck Tunic Sweater - Jeans - Tory Burch Hyde Flats 2Wearing:  Sweater – J. Crew, Pants – J. Crew Factory, Shoes – Tory Burch, Bag – Coach, Necklace – J. Crew, Bracelets – J. Crew Factory & Vintage.

 

PS – Thanks for all your kind notes, well wishes on my new job and “welcome backs”. I really appreciate it. I pretty much had a major anxiety attack on day one, but only a minor one on day two. Here’s to day three! Ay yi yi…

 

10 thoughts on “Yay For Sweaters

  1. Do you shop and try on at the store? I hate ordering sweaters from J. Crew that aren’t their classic styles because I never know how they are goint to fit. I have many times wrongly imagined myself built the same as the model and then been sorely disappointed. I don’t have this problem as much with Factory though. Those shoes! Love them.

    • Sometimes yes. Sometimes no. If I order online I read the reviews (when possible) to see what other people are saying about sizing, and still sometimes end up ordering two sizes anyway. I do like being able to try stuff on in the store, but sometimes I hate going in there because the sales associates are all over me and I feel bad if I try on a bunch of stuff and don’t buy anything. I worked retail for a long time, so I know how sucky it is to have to clean up a full dressing room.

  2. Oooh… pretty brown sweater to go with blue and black! Love the seriously polished flats and bag with the easy jeans, too. Flats; someday I shall wear flats, but perhaps in another life when I am in a taller, thinner incarnation!
    I love sweaters … they mess with me though. I’m short and short waisted, so they are often way too long. I like them best layered, and have had some luck this year with cropped styles … work pretty well and look normal length on me.

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

