Go Red For Women #sizehealthy

I was so honored (and amazed) to be asked to participate in the latest Go Red For Women campaign. You guys… This whole thing was WAY outside of my comfort zone. We were on video. Video? What??? Have you seen my Instagram stories? I am not comfortable in front of a video camera. So many derpy faces. GAH.

Why did I say yes? I said yes because it’s for a really good cause and I wanted to be a part of something positive to help raise awareness about heart disease. Did you know that heart disease is the number one killer of women? One in three women die from heart disease. One in three! I know many people who have been personally affected by this disease, and I’m sure that you do too. I don’t want to be that one. I want to be around for my kids.

As women, we are so concerned about our dress sizes, when we really need to be focusing on our blood pressure, cholesterol, blood sugar, and BMI numbers. Those are the important numbers. One of the best things you can do for yourself is to visit your doctor for your annual check-up. Get your wellness screening! Once you know your numbers you can make modifications to improve them, or keep doing what you are doing if they are good. The point is to know what they are. Ignorance is NOT bliss in this case. It could be deadly.

The Go Red For Women website is a great resource for information. Not sure what your numbers even mean? Are they good? Are they bad? They have you covered. Want to improve your numbers? They have ideas. Want heart healthy recipes? They’ve got that too!

My biggest concern is my blood pressure. High blood pressure runs in my family and I know that my work/life induced stress has a huge impact on it. I always have my annual check-up in January which just so happens to be my insanely busy time at work. My blood pressure is always elevated at that appointment, but fine at other times through out the year. Because I know that, I can take extra care of myself during that time period to help to bring my blood pressure numbers back into the happy zone.

Yes, these are my real blood pressure numbers.

Have you had your annual check-up yet this year? If not, when are you going to make that appointment? You owe it to yourself, your family, and friends. You take care of everyone else, but don’t forget to take care of you too.

Thanks for stopping by!

XOXO,

Ashley

 

 

Full Disclosure: This is a sponsored post, however, all opinions are my own. (As well as the nagging.)

2 thoughts on “Go Red For Women #sizehealthy

  1. Wow! That’s awesome!! I have to admit I never paid any attention to my blood pressure until I recently when I had higher than normal BP a couple of times. I have since started paying attention more and have tried to keep down the stress a bit more!

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

