Black is Back

After doing the seasonal closet rotation I realized that I had a lot of summer clothes (especially dresses) that didn’t bring me joy. They either fit poorly, didn’t flatter my body style, were too short, or were no longer in the color scheme that I am drawn to. I culled the herd. “Donation pile for you!”

You guys…  The only colors I want to wear right now are black, white, olive green, and blue in denim form. But black is the overwhelming winner. So, I guess I’m a New Waver again. I’m a bit more classic in my all black looks at 45 than I was at 16. I hope.

You can’t tell very well in the photos, but the sweater I’m wearing has a mesh panel at the top in the front and the bottom half of the back. So, some sort of layering is required. Or you could be more risque than I am. You decide. I’m wearing a tank top because I am not a flasher. I thought the mesh panels added a bit of something something that makes the sweater interesting. The sweater is from Athleta. They have made a commitment to sustainability and supporting women, so I’m happy to support this company. You can read more about their commitment here.

A note on sizing regarding this sweater. It runs really, really big. I am generally a medium and I ended up buying this in an extra small. As you can see, it is still plenty flowy. Size down!

All black outfit featuring the Evenlane stretch ponte skirt and bridge sandals, 40 + style blogger, 40 + fashion blogger all black chic outfit for summer, 40 + style blogger, 40 + personal blogger

Wearing: Sweater – Athleta, Skirt – Everlane, Sandals – Everlane, Bag – Celine.

 

Thanks so much for stopping by!

XOXO,

Ashley

4 thoughts on “Black is Back

  1. Love this. Black is a predominant color in my wardrobe too – even in summer. It just makes me feel good. I think about my black wardrobe I think of the saying: Once goth, always goth. 😉

  2. I wear lots of black as well. Like you black, denim, white and olive are my top choices. I live in south MS, is a rural area, so I stick out for most everyone else, lol. I try brighter colors sometimes, but I always come back to these colors.

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

