Visiting the Heidelberg Project – Detroit

I’ve lived in the Detroit metro area for over 14 years. Visiting The Heidelberg Project has been on my list of things to do for a long time. A really long time. I’m embarrassed how long it took me to visit. I’m a homebody…  So, my spare time is precious and sometimes I just want to sit around in stretchy pants.

Since we are stay-cationing this week we’ve had nothing but time. The hubs and I decided to take a trip down to the site. The Heidelberg Project is an ever-changing and morphing art project that encompasses Heidelberg Street in Detroit. Actually, it spills over Heidelberg Street.

While I was taking pictures, hubs was talking to one of the overseers of the Project. Detroit has a lot of vandalism and The Project has been burned down several times… He learned the significance of the clocks. Apparently, when the artist was child he was often locked in a closet for long periods of time and he lost all track of time. And then my heart broke into a zillion pieces.

JESUS.

My feels have been really close to the surface lately and that hit a deep chord.

After we visited The Project we stopped by Sister Pie for some delicious pie (duh). That was another Detroit place that has been on our list of places to visit. That crust. My GOD. Delicious. So, here’s to trying new things! Two thumbs up for stepping out comfort zones.

Thanks for stopping by!

XOXO,

Ashley

One thought on “Visiting the Heidelberg Project – Detroit

  1. I’ve been to the Heidelberg Project several times but never had anyone there to explain the meaning of the items (we went in January!). Supposedly this is one of the biggest tourist attractions in Detroit and it was just a few years ago (maybe more) where the city was trying to tear it down. That and all the historic buildings. Thanks for sharing this!

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

