Review: Everlane Silk Square Shirt Dress

After buying the Everlane Double Lined Silk V-Neck Dress (review here) I fell in love with silk and felt I needed more in my life. So drapey and swishy! That’s sort of how I roll…  I find something that I like, become obsessed, and over do it. I bought the same dress in the white/gray color but sent it back. While I love the style, that color was not flattering on me. Again…  With the overdoing.

I had been hemming and hawing about trying the Silk Square Shirt Dress for a while. The reviews were very positive, but I just wasn’t sure about the style. It’s boxy and oversized, and generally that’s not a good silhouette for me. I decided to give it a try and am so glad that I did. While yes, the dress is boxy and oversized, it hangs and drapes so nice because of the silk. I typically wear a size 10 in dresses because I have broad shoulders and an ample bosom. Ahem. I ordered this in a size 8 after reading the reviews and researching the sizing. I’m glad I sized down. A 10 would have been too large.

In contrast to the Double Lined Silk V – Neck Dress, this dress is not lined. There is only layer of silk. I was worried that it may be an issue and the dress may be too see through, but that is not the case. The fabric is nice and opaque, plus the drape of the dress hides any lumps, or bumps, and panty lines. The dress sort of goes outward from the body, then comes back in and gets smaller at the hem.

Speaking of the hem…  It has the nice 6 inch hem that Everlane puts on a lot of their silk products. I love the look. One possible con is that the color is not true black. It’s sort of a washed black, which generally I don’t like, but this works. Would I have preferred a true black? Yes.

I’m excited to wear this work. I refused to wear it before I shot it. I didn’t want it to get wrinkled. Speaking of wrinkles, any item you order online is going to be wrinkled when you get it. Since, the majority of my purchases are online these days, I invested in a hand held steamer from Conair. I use that sucker all the damn time. Life saver. I refuse to iron, and don’t need to anymore with this thing.

Everlane black silk square shirt dress, Everlane modern loafer mule, over 40 fashion blogger, over 40 style blogger black silk shirt dress and mules for summer, 40 + fashion blogger, 40 + style blogger, Detroit blogger summer look featuring a black Everlane silk shirt dress and mules, 40 + fashion blogger, 40 + style blogger, Detroit blogger drapey oversized black silk shirt dress from Everlane, Celine belt bag, Modern Loafer Mules, over 40 style blogger, over 40 fashion blogger black silk button up shirt dress from Everlane, summer outfit, over 40 fashion blogger, over 40 style blogger, Detroit blogger Wearing: Dress – Everlane, Shoes – Everlane, Bag – Celine, Jewelry – Vintage, Lips – M.A.C. (Retro).

 

Thanks so much for stopping by!

XOXO,

Ashley

One thought on “Review: Everlane Silk Square Shirt Dress

Comments are fun! I love reading and responding to them.

